

Special Council August 10, 2020

Moved by: Councillor Ray Young

Seconded by: Councillor Gauri Shankar

That the Council of the Corporation of the Town of Prescott endorse the City of Sault Ste. Marie's resolution regarding the closure of the Canada/US border and puts forward the following:

WHEREAS due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Canada and the United States agreed to close their shared border on March 21, 2020 and that closure, with exceptions, has been extended to August 21, 2020; and

WHEREAS Canada has managed to slow the spread of COVID-19 across the country including our own community of Leeds and Grenville; and

WHEREAS the United States has not slowed the spread of COVID-19 and cases continue to grow in the United States at a much more significant rate than Canada; and

WHEREAS Canadians across the country including here in the Town of Prescott have made and continue to make many sacrifices to slow the spread of COVID-19 and minimize the risk to each other and our larger community; and

WHEREAS Mayor Todd has been working with his border municipal mayoral colleagues across Eastern Ontario to advocate for and support the continued closure of the Canada/United States border with the current terms and conditions.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that this resolution shall serve to support the Federal Government's decision to close the Canada/US border and to request that the Federal Government maintain its current position until the risk of COVID-19 travelling into Canada from the United States is minimized and there is objective data that indicates the growth and spread of the COVID-19 virus across the United States has slowed dramatically and is at a minimum consistent with the growth and spread of the virus in Canada; and

FURTHER BE IT RESOLVED that this resolution shall serve to support the work that local border mayors have done on this issue and encourages that work to continue until Council directs otherwise; and



FURTHER BE IT RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution be sent to The Right Honourable Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, MP Michael Barrett, The Honourable Steve Clark, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, and all municipalities in Eastern Ontario

		REQUESTED BY:		
		RECORDED VOTE	YES	NO
		Councillor Leanne Burton		
		Councillor Teresa Jansman		
		Councillor Lee McConnell		
CARRIED:	X	Councillor Mike Ostrander		
TABLED:		Councillor Gauri Shankar		
DEFEATED:		Mayor Brett Todd		
RECORDED VOTE:		Councillor Ray Young		

BRETT TODD, MAYOR	KIMBERLEY CASSELMAN, CLERK